Posted by: sophiebrowne | January 12, 2010

Mickey-Matic and Me

Ok so here it goes, my very first blog post ever. I guess I’ll start by introducing myself- I am Sophie of old new borrowed & blue photography. I haven’t always known that I wanted to be a photographer, but I did always know that photography was going to be a part of my life.

One Christmas my Aunt Laurie gave me the only present I remember getting as a child. I am pretty sure I was about 7 years old, which would have been 1992. I unwrapped a rectangular department store clothing box, probably Filene’s or something, expecting to find a homemade sweater and skirt set like the one she’d given me a couple of years before. My eyes widened as I looked down at a gift that I would have thought to be “too grown-up” for me—a purple camera!!!! With Mickey Mouse on it!!! It had a rectangular cartridge that you plugged into the top, with eight little flash bulbs that broke when you took a picture (I will admit there were a couple of times that I took a picture just to watch that bulb break.) Remembering this camera made me want to find some pictures of it. So I had to do some research, because unfortunately, at age 7 I didn’t have the foresight to take a picture of my camera… My search didn’t turn up much info, but this is what I did find out: it was a Kodak 110 film camera, called a Mickey-Matic (that apparently only came in pink and blue, but in my mind that camera will always be purple) and the flash is so rare that I was only able to find one picture of it.
Here’s what I found http://www.ecrater.com/product.php?pid=3393481

After that, photography didn’t play a major role in my life, unless you count a period around the mid to late 90s when a family member accidentally left a Polaroid camera at my house. I couldn’t resist the chance to play with someone else’s  toy. The result? Some pretty ridiculous “photo shoots” featuring my younger sister, Emma, sporting a realllllly 90s outfit, something I can barely describe—a one-piece pantsuit-type thing… but it wasn’t pants… it was shorts and it buttoned up the front. I talked to my sister to ask her what she would call that outfit. She gave me the official fashion term: “a “floral, shorts jumper”—which looks as dumb as it sounds. Anyway, I took a series of pictures of Emma dancing around the kitchen to a realllly 90s group called Real McCoy (Their 3 hits in 1995 were “Run Away,” “Another Night,” and “Come and Get Your Love” )… I am crying from laughing so hard as I remember this. And we still have those pictures, and that CD is long gone but I’ll admit I now have those songs on my iPod…

Fast forward 9 years to senior year in high school, when I officially took a photo class and Nicki (Ms.Pardo) was my teacher. (And by the way, Nicki lied when she said that’s when she met me, I had definitely met her years before.) I won’t pretend that I was the best photo student, but I did bring her coffee every morning! ☺  Nicki was one of, if not, the best teacher I’ve ever had for any subject. She taught me pretty much everything I know about photography.

Leave a Reply

Categories

